Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Rear trunk torsion bar removal
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
watsonrx13
Does anyone have a link to the posting showing the home-made tool and technique for removing the torsion bars holding the rear trunk?

I need to replace/reweld the trunk hinge bracket. I'm planning to remove the torsion bars, then remove the rest of the old bracket, clean up the old weld and/or any metal missing from the inner fender well, then postion the trunk, with the new bracket attached, and weld the new bracket on.

Any other suggestions, comments, observations, prayers, etc?

Click to view attachment

BTW, the search function doesn't work too well....

-- Rob
degreeoff
I am no expert I only did it once....and that was enough! OK twice. The first time I used a box end wrench with a slot cut in it to pry the bar back and undo the hinge....the second time I actually took the bars off and damn near killed myself I cut the brackets off and stood back.....sheet .....I'll follow this one
ahdoman
Use the JWest trunk pivots (http://www.jwesteng.com/porsche/914/pivot.htm) with the stock arms and the Camp914 rear trunk shock kit (http://www.camp914.com/products.html). You won't be sorry. The fit and finish is how it should have been done at the factory! I watched Joe Sharp use his homemade tool to remove my torsion bars and it made my head hurt watching him pull those things off under tension! Be Careful. You might be able to get him to post a pic of how he made his (he's on the NARP website all the time).
914Sixer
I have the factory tool if you want to borrow it. You pay the postage.
LowGT
I removed them with the unbolt nuts and watch it fly method. The bracket actually stuck in the drywall on the ceiling, and I'm really surprised I didn't lose any fingers or eyes. I do not recommend this method. slap.gif
swood