Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: The Schreiber Build Thread
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
schreiber
Greetings all! I guess this will serve as a central introduction/ build/ update thread for my teener. A little about me: I've been a member of the site for a year or so. I'm a full time student, work full time as a networks administrator, and am a member of the Marine Corps reserve.

I hope to take this car back to a factory original look... Not down to the last bolt, but given the choice, I'll probably choose the factory look. I've really enjoyed reading the enthusiasm of Pat Garvey and crew in the 'Originality & History' section.

Finally, the 914 is and will be a learning experience for me. I'll admit I have a lot to learn, but I've enjoyed playing around with it so far.

..Also want to give a shoutout to my neighbor, Scott (SGB). He has a beautiful 914, and has been an inspiration with regards to the car. I can only hope I get mine looking like his some day.

Mine:

Click to view attachment

More pictures to follow!
schreiber
So far most of the stuff I've attempted has been cosmetic:
-Tore out the headliner & resurfaced targa top in and out
-Sanded and repainted wheels, put on shiny wheel covers
-Installed new fog light grilles
-Added new parking light lenses
-Ripped out old rear trunk springs
-Installed rear trunk shox from Camp914
-Reinstalled lower dash
-Tore off rotting rear bumper top
-Installed new dash cover

Bought, but have not installed:
-New rear valance
-Passenger side seat
-Replacement door latches
-New switch caps

Big glaring things to work on in the future:
-Fix brakes!!
-Figure out rear camber problem
-New front bumper
-New interior carpet
-New bumper tops
-Repair (or replace) front valance