Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: My Six Conversion - School Bus Yellow
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Pages: 1, 2
MikeSpraggi
So I find this '70 914 on Craigslist for $700. Says it's only a shell. Has flares and 5 bolt 911 pattern on all 4 wheels. I call, make an appointment for 2 days later. Car looks like it has good bones. I asked "what happened to the engine and trans?" The guy says, "Oh, it runs". So I buy it. It's going to be my DE/track car. That was THREE years ago. So to get the original six off the track, I started to "put" the project together.

I had been collecting parts for a six conversion for about 10 years or so. I have just about everything I need, but, this is a LOT of work and a LOT of $$$ if you add it all up. Wife keeps asking, when is it going to be finished ............. lol-2.gif

Here are some pics.

As seen on Craigslist in Philly in Feb of 2006. FG bumpers did not come with the car, but a 1.7L engine did.
Click to view attachment Click to view attachment

2 years later after I bought the FG hood and trunk and replica Fuchs
Click to view attachment
Click to view attachment
Click to view attachment
MikeSpraggi
I haven't done anything like this, but have been reading the 914 Forums for quite some time.

Starting down the road .....
Click to view attachment

Click to view attachment

Click to view attachment

This was some of the worst rust .. front trunk rubber seal area
Click to view attachment

Rear trunk stripped and primed .....
Click to view attachment

Fitting the can for the fuel cell
Click to view attachment
MikeSpraggi
Setting up fitment for the air dam I bought more than 10 years ago for my 1st 914. Need to fabricate the mounting brackets.
Click to view attachment

Purschased Koni yellows all the way around along with 16X7 front and 16X8 Phone dials ..
Click to view attachment

A little more progress on the interior ...
Click to view attachment