Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: why no turbo 914's out there?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Pages: 1, 2
Next GenRacing
i am relatively new to the 914 scene, but i am curious as to why there is no turbo'd 914's out there, at least none that i could find.

the main problem i can see is the heat, but couldn't this be overcome with a front mount oil cooler?

i am experienced in turbo theorys as well as built 3 different turbo cars (from NA to turbo)

let me know if there is something i am missing here?

Danny
Bleyseng
There are a few out there mostly 1.7l's as the 2.0l suffer from blowby due to the thin sealing surface between heads and the cylinders.
SammyG made a 2.0l turbo that was blowthru sold it and Mark L had then sold it and the motor was made NA again
BenM has one in Eastern Wa thats a 1.7l with Kjet on it, runs good
EJM had one back east and has sold it, 1.7l
Jenny's brother had a 2.0L djet one that shot 3 ft flames out the tailpipe when shifting, he loved to race people haha. Think its dead right now

There are no kits at the time but Jake is working on a new setup to solve the head sealing issue. The more boost you apply the quicker the heads/cylinders fail at this time if larger than 90mm burnout.gif
fuch toy
Because you can't turbo a 914
JoeSharp
I can't HELP myself. Everybodyknowsyoucan'tturboateener. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Several club members have turboed cars. airsix, imchappy, Marty at MSDS built kits for it in the 70's. There a few turboed cars around.
:PERMAGRIN: Joe
seanery
there are a couple of turbo'd -6 owners in the club, too.
I know of 3.
Bleyseng
here's a turbo 914 rocking nana.gif
TimT
Rich Clewett has a turbo 914/6 i believe
seanery
yup, it's sweet!

Rich Clewett
Marty
Chappy all have turbo 6s.
VegasRacer
QUOTE (fuch toy @ Jan 7 2006, 01:09 PM)
Because you can't turbo a 914

splat.gif
Kerrys914