Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: VOX Subaru Swap build
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4
VOX
Hey guys i'm new, name's James, i've been surfing the forum for the last few weeks. At first i was planning on building a sr20 datsun 240z, but through some convincing by dlo, i decided to go with a subaru swapped 914. i just picked up the 914 yesterday and started working on it today. I'll try to document what i do in this thread. anyways im new at this and i'm working on a limited budget, so anything you can contribute would be greatly appreciated. especially knowledge and parts on a subaru swap. i'm a full time student so its mostly a weekend project, i hope to get done by summer.

picked up the 914 from dale in lake elsinore. who still has a red roller for sale.

heres how it sat when i showed up. it was sitting at the top of a long uphill dirt road which my car could not make it up. dale drove me and dlo up the hill to check out the car. very nice guy.
IPB Image

heres the front trunk and gas tank.
IPB Image

the rear trunk
IPB Image

here we are towing the car down the dirt road with dlo in the cockpit.
IPB Image
IPB Image

finally next to the street. along with my car and onto the tow truck!
IPB Image
IPB Image
VOX
here it is sitting at my house.
IPB Image
IPB Image
IPB Image
IPB Image
IPB Image
IPB Image
dlo914
Guy's this car was a bargain! It's a 74' with front and rear sway bars, minimal rust. Battery tray is toast, but underneath is solid, rust bubble at right rear next to taillight, longs are solid, surface rust in front and rear trunks, and get this all for just $300.
dlo914
Our next goal is to find a suby powerplant, sideshift tranny, OEM engine bar and KEP adapter plate. Then we can begin to mock up the engine and tranny to fab the engine mounts.
VOX
heres a picture of the battery tray, we're probably going to relocate it to one of the trunks. IPB Image
the other side
IPB Image