Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 914 to a GT conversion
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Phil Plummer
Hi I have mechanically completed my 914/6 conversion and have just installed the metal flares.
The issue is with the 916 front and rear my bodyman tells me the quality is very poor and the fit up the worst he has seen in a while I think these are from QRS .
Does anybody know where GOOD quality 916 front and rear bumpers can be had?
Phil
Chris H.
Phil,

I'm not a fiberglass expert but have seen many people on the board re-shape fiberglass bumpers significantly to get them to fit right. Seems to be somewhat rare that they bolt right up and the 916 is apparently one of the hardest to fit. You might want to post a separate thread question so everyone sees it and can comment. There are several professional/capable of professional quality body and paint guys here. I've heard good things overall about QRS but nothing specific about the 916 bumpers. Only a couple of companies actually make them.
Moneypit
Tangerine! My dad's '72 was Tangerine, so I'm biased. It's the 914 that led to us getting a neglected '74 1.8 for $600 and started my 914 addiction!

If only you did charity work, the 1.8 is in a pasture out in west Texas right now with a rusted out control arm mount area. She deserves better!

Regarding your technique, from what I read you generally MIG to tack the panels in place, then use TIG to lay the bead and blend the two together? I realized I will have to learn to weld in order to get our current 914 in shape to last a long time. I will probably have to replace the floorpan, and am curious what technique you would use to accomplish that?
The Metal Surgeon
bumpers and custom metal GT rockers now in paint.

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image
mepstein
QUOTE(Chris H. @ May 1 2014, 09:12 AM) *

Phil,