Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 1975 Porsche 914
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
ripper911
IPB Image
thieuster
QUOTE(nigolusa @ Feb 14 2015, 06:23 AM) *

It all got started with a wooden frame for the front bumper and evolved beyond that:

Alfa 75! Nice, you tried to create an IMSA version with wood? The Dutch highway patrol would hang you to dry if you tried to drive the roads with that. Unsafe for pedestrians and cyclists. You could get lots of body trim parts for these. Often sold by a Dutch tuning company Savali. (One of my students has worked there for a few years - I used to be a highschool teacher).

Alfas were common as muck back in Holland back in those years. They had a bunch of dedicated followers. Mostly people who had misty eyes when they spotted the Alfa-red, forgetting the electrical gremlins, the rust problems (you could here the rust beetles eating the metal in the brochure), the lousy build quality and the fast depreciation... But then came the Alfa 156. AFAIK never sold in the US. A fantastic car! That car ticked all the boxes. Size-wise about the same as a modern day Buick Regal. If you can lay your hands on one of these, that would be a great car to enjoy. Oh man. It was the car that sent BMW engineers back to the drawingboard for a better 3 Series.

An anecdote: my wife had a green metallic Alfa, I had a Merc at that time. My Merc spent days and days in at the Merc's dealers shop - resulting in TWO new engines within 30K miles. Production proces faillure. In all that time, my wife's Alfa never broke down, never had a problem. Nothing in nearly 200K miles!

Menno

IPB Image

EDIT. And oh, now we're discussing Alfas... Look what a local guy has in his garage - among several other high end cars...

IPB Image

With my modest TR3A in the background...

IPB Image
Rotary'14
confused24.gif popcorn[1].gif popcorn[1].gif

wow
nigolusa
QUOTE(thieuster @ Feb 14 2015, 08:36 AM) *