Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: #770 (912E) Project thread *Tangerine Cooling System installed!)
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
Bulldog9
I'm restoring a 912E, total gut & rebuild. New to this forum, been on the 912 board and several others for a while. I've never worked on an air cooled car engine before, or VW/Porsche of any type, so this has been a real learning process. Been lurking here for a while, figured it was time to post. I've been on 912BBS since 2011, for those interested, this link goes back to day 1. http://www.912bbs.org/vb/showthread.php?43391-770-Update
Mike Bellis
welcome.png
76-914
welcome.png
PanelBilly
WElcome.
JawjaPorsche
We need pictures!
welcome.png
aharder
welcome.png
Drums66
....WELCOME...man!
JoeSharp
welcome.png
thisthreadisworthlesswithoutpics.gif
gunny
welcome.png
krazykonrad
welcome.png
green914
welcome.png
Bulldog9
OK, here is a quick journey, focus mainly on the motor. Car was basically abandoned in the woods, generations of mice & bugs & Lord knows what reproducing. Is a total gut and rebuild, but I got the car for nothing and I'm having fun...

First couple are of the car, will follow with motor.
Bulldog9
more of car overall
Bulldog9
As is evident the car is basically solid, just filled with junk, and moss and mold and water and such. The bags in last post was the first round of trash I pulled out, next was the carpet, headliner, door panels, etc. Basically is a gut down to the frame. So far the wiring harnesses looks untouched by varmints.
Bulldog9
Here is how the floor and interior look today. I stripped down the floor to bare metal, repaired rust, treated with mercedes source miracle paint (like POR15). I am currently stripping the body, sanding down to base coat (had a couple BAD paint jobs) then off to a body shop to take down to metal repair rust & prep for paint.
Bulldog9