914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
Aaron Cox
front didnt need 2" more like 1"...

looks good. i hope you know how to do body work on the rear smile.gif
Dr. Roger
front didnt need 2" more like 1"...

true.

but in the spirit of trying to keep the front and rear widths closer rather than farther apart i thought it prudent.

when leo imperial and i did his fenders he had one of those hydraulic expando thingies. and just like it happens sometimes, harbor freight has them on sale this week so the front fenders will get a little widening the same we we did his.

i just love the look of tires/wheels that come right out to the inner fenders without touching.
beerchug.gif

if i make it to the breakfast next weekend and you happen to see a FG fender laying in the street, it'll probably be mine. as i have ZERO body experience.

wish me luck. laugh.gif wacko.gif blink.gif
Andyrew
If you want em extra strong, and you dont trust your fiberglass work.

Do everything you were originally going to do.. but when it comes time to haveing everything glued down, make sure you have your holed pre drilled (obviously), and grind down the fiberglass on the hole for room for pop rivits to be countersunk.

Pop rivets themselfts are plenty to hold it, and glue is also plenty to hold it, doing both, your just peachy.

Also this will help so that when the glue is set Instead of undrilling your screws (and having your glue around the screws crack headbang.gif ) you just ruff up the rivets and apply resin/fiberglass/bondo/kittyhair (your choice.. I did all in different area's)

Your were I was 2 months ago... But I figured it out finally on the last fender headbang.gif

GL dude.
Dr. Roger
i'm going to take your advice andyrew and do both methods.

Dr. Roger
not a slimming effect.
J P Stein
When hacking away at fenders, think radiused corners.
.......just my .02 of course. There's still extra metal there.
rick 918-S