Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: The official chappy 914-6-gt-turbo carrera thread
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13
seanery
that looks like a nice car!
r_towle
QUOTE(iamchappy @ Jul 23 2008, 12:38 AM) *

I have the car ready again , i mounted the Smart racing on engine oil filter in place of the oil cooler and its ready to go sometime this week i am heading to the shop with the car again.
In the mean time i have been working on the 924s i picked up for my son for 2000 bucks. The oil seals failed and put oil in the coolant system, after removing the oil cooler it was obvious why it failed, the last mechanic that installed new seals put the shims in on the wrong side of the oil cooler.

I went to the dealership and another shop and got all the service records on the car from the past two years, totals of the repairs 6,900! Some of the repairs were done as insurance measures right when the car was purchased, basically the PO told the service dept. at the dealership to take care of all the things to make the car nice for his son, and they did.... Unfortunately the oil cooler seals were the only thing not done.....

I just did this same exact thing.
I got mine for a buck though...
The oil cooler seal and that entire system is the worst design I have ever seen.
All I can say is use pure water for the first five flushes.....lol
Eventually it will stay clean, but there is alot of oil trapped up in the head.
Bleeding sucks...run it...get it hot...jack it up, bleed while super hot...
drop car, run, repeat...
It only take one or two bleeds to get it all out, but if you dont get the air out it never cools the car down.

Have fun with that...
Did I mention that its the worst design EVER....
Got mine for my son also...he loves it.

Ours has a new clutch and a few other new items...so that is nice.
Wait till you look at the timing belt arrangement.......ugghhh and its every 30k...yipee.